Steady (slow flow)


This class is taught by:

Matt Edwards

I've been hooked since my first class at Grand Valley State almost 6 years ago. Since then, yoga has helped my relationship with myself as well as my community. Each and every time we step onto a yoga mat we can learn something new about ourselves. No effort is lost. I'm honored to be of service at the Yoga Shelter and I look forward to growing better and better together.

Namaste

Our slow-burn hatha style is a fully guided foundation-building slow grounded flow.Most forms of yoga in the West can be classified as Hatha Yoga. Hatha simply refers to the practice of physical yoga postures, meaning your Ashtanga, vinyasa, Iyengar and Power Yoga classes are all Hatha Yoga. Focused on going deeper into the breath, you are encouraged to keep your eyes closed on this inward journey, enhancing the ability to pay attention to feelings, and relax into your body even in periods of discomfort. Working to build endurance, we explore the balance of effort and ease using slower, cumulatively deeper pose sequences with longer holds designed to engage and strengthen not only the major muscle groups but to functionally integrate the entire body. In this slower yet challenging practice, within the boundaries and framework of personal individual expression, "everybody" is presented the opportunity to articulate both breath and posture. A longer Savasana rests and restores body and the mind.

Upcoming classes:

  • Wed Sep 27 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Wed Oct 04 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Wed Oct 11 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Wed Oct 18 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Wed Oct 25 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Wed Nov 01 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Wed Nov 08 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Wed Nov 15 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Wed Nov 22 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Wed Nov 29 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Wed Dec 06 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Wed Dec 13 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Wed Dec 20 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Wed Dec 27 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Wed Jan 03 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Wed Jan 10 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Wed Jan 17 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak