Strong (vinyasa)


This class is taught by:

Sarah Woodman

Lead Teacher
E-RYT200
It's amazing how life can change directions completely when you begin to do what you're meant to. I began teaching yoga the Autumn of 2014. Life beforehand was the usual ups and downs of a fun loving, soulful service industry Detroiter. Bartending was my main source of income. The other as a singer in a variety of bands, covers and originals. Both places I spent most of my time weren't very healthy. My life was the party. It wasn't taking me where I felt I needed to go. My spirit was in need of something more. I was ready for a change.
Yoga transformed my life in all areas. It has become my lifestyle. I have developed a plant-based diet, commitment to mental health, a daily yoga/meditation practice and making self-care a priority. Continuous work on myself keeps me honest and able to help you work through your own evolution in a safe space. I feel deeply connected to our community at Yoga Shelter. Throughout the past few years my passion for YS has been placed at every level of our company, finally landing in a lead teaching role and being a part of our Leadership Team. Among teaching all of our Signature Formats, I also teach Aerial Yoga, Floga, Kids Yoga, Workshops, Yoga 101, YTT, Co-Lead Retreats, offer private and group/private lessons, Yoga Parties and have a Mentorship Program. Inquire about any of these offers at woodman@yogashelter.com.
Our signature hot vinyasa style, in a heated room. Have fun and empower yourself as you burn away the stress of the day. Prepare to sweat and increase both stamina and metabolism, as STRONG is a challenging, dynamic cardio-intensive practice at a faster pace. Sequences of continuous “flows” provide the opportunity to deepen breathing and detoxify body and mind as heat builds from within. Intelligent pose progression moves from basic to complex as we connect the movement to breath. Cues to maintain focus on alignment and sound structure to help work every muscle safely, increase flexibility and strength in the body. Students are led through a series of postures that “flow” together for a couple of rounds, then freedom is given to move and define your own pace, testing your own limits as you make your practice your own. Find your power, explore your edge and still have a little time to rest.

Upcoming classes:

  • Mon Sep 25 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Sarah Woodman
    at Royal Oak
  • Tue Sep 26 4:45 pm - 5:45 pm with Rob Woollard
    at Birmingham
  • Mon Oct 02 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Sarah Woodman
    at Royal Oak
  • Tue Oct 03 4:45 pm - 5:45 pm with Rob Woollard
    at Birmingham
  • Mon Oct 09 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Sarah Woodman
    at Royal Oak
  • Tue Oct 10 4:45 pm - 5:45 pm with Rob Woollard
    at Birmingham
  • Mon Oct 16 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Sarah Woodman
    at Royal Oak
  • Tue Oct 17 4:45 pm - 5:45 pm with Rob Woollard
    at Birmingham
  • Mon Oct 23 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Sarah Woodman
    at Royal Oak
  • Tue Oct 24 4:45 pm - 5:45 pm with Rob Woollard
    at Birmingham
  • Mon Oct 30 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Sarah Woodman
    at Royal Oak
  • Tue Oct 31 4:45 pm - 5:45 pm with Rob Woollard
    at Birmingham
  • Mon Nov 06 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Sarah Woodman
    at Royal Oak
  • Tue Nov 07 4:45 pm - 5:45 pm with Rob Woollard
    at Birmingham
  • Mon Nov 13 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Sarah Woodman
    at Royal Oak
  • Tue Nov 14 4:45 pm - 5:45 pm with Rob Woollard
    at Birmingham
  • Mon Nov 20 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Sarah Woodman
    at Royal Oak
  • Tue Nov 21 4:45 pm - 5:45 pm with Rob Woollard
    at Birmingham
  • Mon Nov 27 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Sarah Woodman
    at Royal Oak
  • Tue Nov 28 4:45 pm - 5:45 pm with Rob Woollard
    at Birmingham