Vinyasa


This class is taught by:

Matt Edwards

I've been hooked since my first class at Grand Valley State almost 6 years ago. Since then, yoga has helped my relationship with myself as well as my community. Each and every time we step onto a yoga mat we can learn something new about ourselves. No effort is lost. I'm honored to be of service at the Yoga Shelter and I look forward to growing better and better together.

Namaste

Melissa Wolak

Yoga found me during my junior year of college were I was over-working, over-stressing, and over-running. I somehow found myself in a Vinyasa yoga class because it seemed to be gaining popularity and I figured I would give it a shot. After realizing how far away my toes actually were in a forward fold and trembling/shaking my way through my first pigeon, I realized that this "yoga thing" was no joke. As my perfectionist self, I was determined to get better at all of these poses and get into a headstand just as effortlessly as the girl on the mat in front of me. With time and lots of sweat, the poses because easier, but the most enlightening part was that my life did as well. All of the stress and work and fears and worries somehow left me when I came into those four walls and simply found a way to let go and be in the moment- working hard, yet accepting where I was all at the same time.

Six years later, yoga is a part of my life and I carry my yoga breath with me everywhere I go. I enjoy teaching others not only the correct postures, but enjoy seeing them leave with a smile on their face and a calm in their spirits that wasn't present at the beginning of class. I love bringing laughter, smiles, and challenge into my classes and look forward to making students feel at ease in our time together!

Becky Siden

My main focus as a teacher is to help folks practice compassion, experience joy & live wholeheartly. I act as a guide to break away from our cultural ideal of perfectionism to help folks live with more freedom. I love quotes, feeling inspired, connection, community & good music (the kind that makes you want to sing along). The practice of yoga has taught me that the true yoga is living off my mat. It is in the realness of a conversation, laughter & tears shared, and embracing authenticity. Throughout the years, I have done several yoga and therapy trainings. My journey as a yoga teacher started in 2007 and I will forever be a student of life.

“A moment of self-compassion can change your entire day. A string of such moments can change the course of your life.” Christopher Gemer


Upcoming classes:

  • Fri Mar 31 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Sat Apr 01 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Tue Apr 04 6:00 am - 7:00 am with Melissa Wolak
    at Royal Oak
  • Fri Apr 07 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Sat Apr 08 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Tue Apr 11 6:00 am - 7:00 am with Melissa Wolak
    at Royal Oak
  • Fri Apr 14 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Becky Siden
    at Royal Oak
  • Sat Apr 15 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Tue Apr 18 6:00 am - 7:00 am with Melissa Wolak
    at Royal Oak
  • Fri Apr 21 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Becky Siden
    at Royal Oak
  • Sat Apr 22 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Tue Apr 25 6:00 am - 7:00 am with Melissa Wolak
    at Royal Oak
  • Fri Apr 28 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Becky Siden
    at Royal Oak
  • Sat Apr 29 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Tue May 02 6:00 am - 7:00 am with Melissa Wolak
    at Royal Oak
  • Fri May 05 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Becky Siden
    at Royal Oak
  • Sat May 06 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak
  • Tue May 09 6:00 am - 7:00 am with Melissa Wolak
    at Royal Oak
  • Fri May 12 9:45 am - 10:45 am with Becky Siden
    at Royal Oak
  • Sat May 13 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm with Matt Edwards
    at Royal Oak